Some people believe that the qualities a person needs to become successful in today’s world cannot be learned at a university or similar academic institution. Do you agree or disagree?

There was an ignited debate in recent years to argue for the importance of educational setting. Opponents to orthodox perspective did believe that the qualities that could pave the way for success were collected from other environments rather than traditional education. In my humble opinion, university does partly contribute to one’s sweet fruits, other required abilities come down from real-life practices.

On the one hand, current education systems are in desperate need of being reformed. Despite that fact that the concept that learning is the shortcut to eradicate the gap of the circumstances which one was born was accepted for generations, our education system is way behind on realistic expectations. Only by tackling at the root of imparting knowledge can human lay a new foundation for the next graduates who are obliged to face an endless sea of deadly issues that could threat our survival. For example, more and more universities have included computer science and soft skills in their curriculum no matter what student's major is. This move could be admitted as education’s failure amid changing realistic expectations in current context. In this light, the skeptics have the rights to declare that higher education does no longer catch the pace of time.

On the other hand, learning must be practiced throughout one’s lifetime rather than only in schooling. In fact, learning does not make one learned, or in other words, to be successful. There are those who have knowledge and those who have understanding. The first requires memory and the second philosophy. Therefore, a person have to be armed with a comprehensive understanding that it is the combination of practical experiences and knowledge schooled in educational settings to be the best way leading to the final success. For instance, Edmond Dantes in the Count of Monte Cristo who actually had enjoyed two-year of training with an Italian priest, Faria, did learn other important abilities by experiencing various lives to eventually reach his most precious success: to forgive the life and to forgive himself also. For learning is a relentless quest, each individual is obliged to cultivate practical qualities that aims to support his goals everyday in life, even as the schooling was over, instead of depending on the knowledge learned in school.

In conclusion, there is a widening gap between higher education and realistic expectation that forces the authority to pay attention. I firmly believe that humans today do no longer depend on the knowledge impacted by universities to become successful.