Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing things together that are related to schoolwork. Which of the two approaches do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, due to the fast pace of technology and science growth, it is essential for parents to engage in the process of their youngsters' education to make sure that they are not misusing the available technologies. However, since parents have a crucial role in developing the mindset of their kids, we cannot underestimate the importance of the non-educational engagement of family members with their children. So, I personally believe that in case of having a limited time to interact with kids, parents should try their best to make good memories and have fun rather than concentrating on school subjects. The reasons to substantiate my viewpoint are elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, family members are the very first human beings that infants and newborns meet during their life and hence, they are the ones with the foremost impact on every single action of the child. To be more specific, young people look at their parents and other family members to learn what to do in different situations and try to imitate their actions to overcome obstacles, manage their life, and care about their health. So, if parents spend their free time with their children more on playing and doing sports or even social activities, they can teach them lessons more valuable than school subjects.

As for the second reason, plays have an unavoidable impact on developing children's skills. Actually, researchers have shown that play is not only for having fun and increasing the levels of pleasure. However, it can be performed to practice skills that cannot be experienced during life as a kid. For instance, children need to know how it feels to be destructive. However, if they try to respond to this special feeling by breaking glasses and other things at home, their parents will get mad at them and this will result in aggressive reactions that have bad mental effects on children. Nevertheless, parents can help their child to explore this feeling by playing with them and for example, helping them build a house using legos and then letting them demolish the house. This way, not only the youngsters better explore their feelings and desires, but also spend a happy time with their parents and create some good memories which result in a closer and stronger relationship.

In a nutshell, I believe that parents who don't have the chance to spend a great deal of time with their children have to spend their time in playing and doing side activities rather than working on school subjects because this way they can help their children to be in better physical and also mental shape, and additionally, they can provide their children the opportunity to better explore their feelings and interests.