Do you agree or disagree? It is better to relax through watching a film and reading a book
than doing physical exercises?
All over our vast world, people are overwhelmed by their different kinds of anxieties stemming
from their responsibilities either for their jobs or families. It indicates the significance of having
an activity to relax to resume daily tasks with a refreshed mind. Some people may hold the view
that watching movies or reading books is the best way to relax; however, some others may take
an opposite viewpoint and believe that physical activities are more effective for relaxing, and I
firmly approve of the former. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most outstanding
reasons.
The first significant point to be mentioned is that it is easier to fit watching films and reading
books in the daily schedule rather than doing physical exercises. This is because it is less
dependent on limiting factors such as weather, place, and people. Although doing physical
exercises has innumerable benefits for health, people are too tired after a demanding workday to
exercise. Therefore, they will not be willing enough to exercise regularly, and things will get
worse when they encounter difficulties fitting physical activities in their schedule. In other
words, if they succeed in motivating themselves, there will be other obstacles dissuading them.
Conversely, it is much more convenient for people to sit and watch a movie or read a book,
which is easier to plan. For example, although several times I planned to go to a park every day
for running, this plan did not last for more than two or three days every time for reasons like
polluted air, lack of proper shoes or clothes, or lack of motivation. But even on very busy days,
my wife and I watch sitcoms because neither does it need preparation and planning, nor does it
take a long time to make it hard to handle. Therefore, not only are watching movies and reading
books less energy-consuming, but also they are easier to plan for.
Another reason which deserves some words here is that being exposed to art and literature
through watching films and reading books relaxes individuals mentally. Nowadays, life is more
sophisticated than the past, and people need mental relief more than physical one, and it can be
achieved by escapist activities pacifying their thoughts. Reading a book or watching a movie,
people can take their souls apart from all of their worries, and enter a magical world of words or
scenes which they can imagine themselves in. As an instance, after a busy day, it was a total
deviation from upsetting thoughts for me to read the travelogue of Omidvar brothers, which
made me imagine traveling to all places they had been to, and feel every single experience they
went through. Thus, the more an activity helps people to pacify their minds, the more it will be
relaxing for them.
To wrap it up, this is my deep belief that the advantages of relaxing through books and
movies outweigh those of sports. Contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, one soon
realizes how art and literature reduce one’s stresses and how flexible to plan they are. If people
want to be unleashed form their distressing life, they should consider films and books as first
candidates to relieve themselves.