Some people choose friends who have the similar
characters like themselves. Others choose friends
who are totally different to themselves. Compare the
advantages of having friends who are different from
you with the advantages of having friends who are
similar to you. Which kind of friend do you prefer for
yourself? Why?
Human is social creature, and he needs to be in the social community. By having
friends, he satisfies his need. It has a argue with which, we should have friends like
us or choose friends that are totally different from us? I prefer to have friends who
are different from me. I have two reasons, which I will explore in my following essay.
First, people have an impression on us, it cannot ignore, which is the essential key
for choosing friends. I recently read a book by Daren Hardy; he mentioned our
character is an average of five people we are connected with them. If we select
friends who have a character like us, we lose the chance of learning new things and
developing our knowledge. For example, some of my friends are learning a new
language; as a result, when I recognize my friends learning new things, I try to learn
another language, and I put myself in a challenging situation. If I chose friends like
me, maybe I did not learn a new language because I did not have enough incentive.
Another advantage of having friends who do not have a similar character is that we
obtain this chance to have more social skills in knowing to have to appropriate
behavior in any kind of situation; consequently, we will be more socialized. If we
have friends who have similar characteristics, we can form friendships quickly, and
our friends can understand us better because they are just like us. We face one
question here, whether we cannot feel intimacy with friends who are not like us? If
we do not have enough social skills, the answer would be yes. I do not decline; it is
complex and difficult to connect with people totally different from us, but it would be
easier in the long term.
In conclusion, I prefer to make friends who are different from me because it would
help enhance my skills in any field because I have the incentive to change myself to
a better version. Furthermore, It allows me to be more social. According to what I
mentioned, I prefer to have friends who are not like me.