Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Every day we see lots of advertisements around us. They are the key part of the modern businesses. Many companies and businesses are promoted using the advertising tool. Although, some people believe that advertisements can improve their life quality, others casts doubt on. Considering the both side, personally, I agree with the first viewpoint that says advertisements can play an important positive role in our life. I would provide two reasons for my choice.

First, advertisements can provide good resources of information for customers. This means that, as consumers, people need reliable resources to choose their needed goods or services. Therefore, advertisement introduces completely new products and services to the world and also gives the costumers more choices. For example, I remember that some years ago, when I was a MSc. student in University of Zanjan, I needed to go to English class to get prepared for the TOEFL test. That time, it was very difficult for me to find a great English class, because my university’s campus was at outskirt of the city. Also, the transportation system to the city was poor and I did not access to any facilities to look for English institutes by myself. Additionally, I didn’t know anyone around me who taking English class. Therefore, I checked some advertising websites and they headed me to a video sharing website called “Aparat”, where I found a great video about an English institute. Users had left lots of comments about the institutes and particularly about one of the teachers there. So, trusting them I registered online in his class. Afterward, I participated physically in his class and my English got improved. As you can see, the advertisements have really positive effects on people’s choice.

Second, advertisement creates jobs. To clarify it, advertisements directly and indirectly can create jobs. At first place, the advertising company as a business needs to employ some people for different careers such as managers, photographers, program developers and workers. Also, advertising, a business will be promoted. Consequently, the number of its customers will be increased. Afterward the business probably will need to hire more people. For example, I vividly remember an advertisement on TV which was about a pot. The program was broadcasting from a luxury kitchen hosting by a chief. The chief was cooking all the various recipes in the pots. Fortunately, I heard that the company manufacturing the pots could hire around 1000 people and sold around 1 million dollars just in a short time! Therefore, I should emphasize again that advertisement is very beneficial for people.

To sum, I believe in the modern society we require advertisement tool. It’s beneficial for introducing products and services and also providing choices for the potential customers. Besides, it is a positive activity that creates more jobs and promotes businesses. At the end, I suggest that targeted advertisements will decrease some probable crisis and every one would be aware of the benefits of the service.