Some people say that the best way to raise children is to encourage them to be independent thinkers. Others disagree and say that children need to be taught discipline in order to become successful. Using specific examples, discuss these two opinions. State which one you agree with and why?

Childhood is one the most important periods of any persons’ life. Humans most significant attitudes and behavioral attributes are shaped in this short but determining time. Some parents believe that children must be treated with discipline and strict rules to be successful in future. However, some others think letting the off springs to have more freedom of choice and independency would benefit them more. In my view, I guess raising the children as independent thinkers can help them more in their future life ahead because of some reasons which I am going to mention here.

First, raising the children as independent minds would assist them to decide in crucial moments of their life. When you let your son or daughter to decide about a matter that your family has confronted with, you are showing indirectly that he or she is also an important member of the team and their say worth something. This can consequently benefit them when they face with a problem of their own and parents are not there to decide emplace of them. But, if their parents practice these sorts of situations with them during their childhood, they can easily deal with it and come up with an appropriate solution to solve it. For example, I myself have experienced this kind of condition in many occasions of my life, since my parents forced me to think about the right thing to do in every situation I experienced in my childhood. Generally, I would not saw any reason why they were doing this and found it always annoying. However, now that I grew up, I can clearly understand why my parents were doing that things since now I am using it in my own son.

Another main reason about this is because of the creativity it brings with itself normally. When you have to choose for yourself without any body else assist, it may seem akward at first but it pushes you to use your own imagination to come up with a few novel pathways to solve your problem since there is not any person to do it for you. For instance, my friend Jimmy never liked to be present in most of the math classes but our teacher was so clever and remember who cut the classes in the middle. After one or two session he was tired of sitting bored in math class so decided to do something about it. He taped himself in a recorder and gave it to me to play it when our math teacher called his name. So as you can see children can solve their own problems and coorect their mistakes if they may be provided with enough space to act.

In sum, raising children in the best way it could happen is one the parents challenging duties. Some of them may use difficult measures for their treatment where some others give the children the time and space to learn and decide for themselves independently. With these reasons I believe any parents can easily know which one of those can coach the children in the long run.