Some people say that the Internet provides people with a lot of valuable information. Others think access to much information creates problems. Which view do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many people believe that the internet causes problems in life while others believe it benefits them. From my point of view, the internet provides a great deal of valuable information to people because that easy access to information makes life easier for both students and parents.

To start with, compared to the past, students have easy access to information by typing only few words. Nowadays, many students have their own computers and the internet at home. That situation makes educational studies much effective since the internet has tremendous amount of information in every subject. Even, we can consider it an old wise man who is always there for students to answer all questions. Homework, for example, has always been a difficult part of the education system. Students have difficulties to do some assignments that requires detail research. To me, it was always challenging to do that kind of research in high school since the internet was not spread out at that time. The only internet access was in the library with a limited access. Therefore, I needed to do my research from printed materials such as books and magazines. It took extra time for me to finalize my research because looking for a particular information from different books was not easy. A recent study in among high school students has shown that 99% of the students use the internet as their primary source for their studies.

Another point to consider is that parents also benefit from the internet in many ways. Parents had some difficulties in the past while tracking their students process at school, especially when the student is not willingness to share how he is doing at school. In their busy work schedule, parents needed to make appointments with teacher to learn their children's progress at school. To be more specific, I remember the times when my parents came to school to speak with my teacher on weekends. It was mandatory for all parents. Even tough, my parents had the information about my grades and progress, they had to attend that meetings. My mother always complained about it since she thought it was such a waste of time. However, with the widespread internet, parents can always track their children's progress only typing their usernames and passwords in a website. There is not a need to go to school for any meetings and it is an ongoing access which makes parents to be aware anything right away. That is why I believe that the internet has made parents' life much easier.

To sum up, for the reasons discussed above, the effects of the internet on people are positive, especially it is beneficial for students and parents because it makes their life a lot easier compared to the past.