Some people say that tourism has many negative effects on the countries that people travel to. How true is this statement? What can tourists do to reduce the harmful effects of tourism on local cultures and environments?

Every coin has two sides. One is curse and another is boon. Tourism has also both types of effects as positive effects and negative effects. Firstly we will take a short look on to positive effects. It includes improvement of economical condition of that region. The area becomes well known for its tourism and naturals wonders. Furthermore we can see that there are two types of negative effects of tourism one including deterioration of natural environment and other is impact of tourist on local people.

Now we will see detailed effect on deterioration of nature. Sindhudurg, a city from India was famous for coral islands and clear sea water. As tourism and human interference in coral area increased the the area of coral area reduced drastically. Coral islands are very sensitive and they are slow growers. They take many years to grow and are important part of sea ecosystem as many fishes and other animal like sea horses breed in the coral areas. Many tourist from different region visit locality. If we take a look at history we can clearly see that tourist had played major role in spreading diseases like Ebola and HIV. Through diseased tourists any disease can be spread in local healthy people causing outbreaks.

To prevent such losses we should take some precautionary steps like limiting the number of visitors. This is successfully is being followed from last few years, in areas like forests, conserved area, mountains like mount Everest. Proper training of how to take care of nature should be given to tourists before entering in sensitive area. The outbreak of diseases can be prevented by prior vaccination of tourist as well as local people. The types of vaccines can be determined from the variety of visitors visiting the tourist places.

Sometimes tourist exchange their cultural habits with local people, impact of this can be observed when we can watch local people following different cultures from different area of world. Such changes can be considered as evolution of culture. But harmful effects should be avoided by following strict rules.