Some people think it would help students to learn if teachers give time for discussion in class, others think that class discussion is unnecessary. What is your opinion and why

With considerable development of education, more children have the chance to study in school nowadays than in the past. And teaching methods have also change a lot thanks to the new technology, such as project and computer. Recently, an issue has come into focus that whether should teacher spend time on letting students to discuss in the class while there are a host of new methods to teach students. Some people support that the traditional method should be abandoned, and others hold the opposite idea. From my point of view, I support the latter one --never should the influence of discussion in class be ignored.

Admittedly, with the appearance of new devices, it seems that giving student time to argue for an issue is inefficient and they can obtain much more knowledge by watching educational video, listening academic lecture recording. However, there are a mount of advantages that cannot be achieved by using these so-called new technologies.

For one thing, students can gain a profound understanding about the knowledge by discussing it with their classmates. In details, when students learn a new concept, they may always feel puzzled about some parts. Different students may encounter different questions and they likely have distinctive understanding about the question. By communication with each other, they can always find a new method to solve the puzzle. For instance, when I was in high school, once in the math class, I was trying hard to solve a problem that my teacher just wrote down on the blackboard. He gave us ten minutes to find the solution. And maybe I was not in the condition that day, I could hardly figure out a little clue to solve it. Then I had to turn to my desk mate for help. He was extremely good at math, and he provided me with a new method that I never heard before. By having a discussion with my desk mate, I obtained something that I would never learned by myself. And I believe this case is not rare, in reality, frequently, many people have seen.

Furthermore, teachers can have a positive feedback from the student discussion, which benefits improving their teaching methods. Teacher cannot distinguish whether his or her teaching method is efficient if students never talk about their feelings. Only through the feedback from student, can a teacher figures out what is the best way to teach. For example, once a young teacher came to my class to teach us. Since he was new here and lacked experience, he did not know how to effectively convey his ideas to us. When he asked us to have a discussion about one concept, he walked around and heard our response. And we actually gave him some advises. He then promoted his way of teaching in the next class.

Based on the opinions above, despite of that due to some innovation in teaching, traditional discussion may seemly be a waste of time. I still hold the idea that discussion in class is crucial for enhancing understanding of knowledge and developing teaching method.