people nowadays spend much more time than they should using text messages and new technologies such as social media to communicate with each other.

With the development of technology, cell phones and Laptops are become more accessible than before, nearly everyone has a cell phone nowadays, even the children who are still in elementary school. And they spend a huge amount of time on the social media to "talk" to each other by using the text message or video chat. Recently, the issue has been brought into focus whether people cost too much time on the virtual communication provided by these new technologies. The way I see it, the time people spend on these things considerably invades their lives in a large scale.

To begin with, the first aspect will be that the time people spend on social media occupy lots of their work time. People nowadays spend too much time on social media on their way to work as well as when they are working. Just imagine on Monday morning, you take the subway to your office. When you get on the train and fall asleep. All of a sudden, the subway stops, and you look around, only realize everyone on the train just lows their head and smiles at their phone screen. This case is not rare, in reality, frequently many people have seen this before. Also when people work in their office, at times, they just get used to talk through the social media like Wechat, even if they are just next to each other.

Another equally important aspect is people spend too much time using these new technology to communicate in their lives. Students even use Facebook in class or on their way home, which is very dangerous. The news that people get hit by car while they are crossing the street just because they focus on their chat on the phone, is not rare anymore. And in weekends, a great number of people choose to stay at home, chat or play online games with their friends rather than go out and have a happy trip in the nature. People in the modern society are isolated by the so called new technology, both physically and mentally.

Certainly, the new technology plays an important role in our daily lives to communicate with our friends and families, and make it more convenient and efficient than before. However, it's just people rely on these technology too much as to passively influence their normal lives. Maybe someday in the future, people may forget how to talk, just remember how to type the characters on the keyboard.