Young people today are less dependent on their parents than in the past

Modern society is becoming more different than before, because of its development of technology, media, or transportation system. Hence, the young people in our generation can enjoy a huge number of resources than before. And consequently, young people nowadays, are becoming more independent than before on their parents.

To begin with, young people depend less on their parents in the way to obtain information or knowledge. With the development of Internet and the diffusion of computer, young people can achieve a host of information about their countries culture, country tradition, which in the past, are always told by their parents, one generation to another generation. And young people do not need to always ask their parent about many questions, such as why the sky is blue, why bears have to sleep in the winter, why birds can fly. This case is not rare, and I believe a number of people would ask the same question to their parents when they are young. But now they can find these answers by themselves via Internet.

Also, due to the influence of the considerable amount of knowledge or information attained from the outside world, young people in the modern society become mature earlier than ones in the past.

Young people grow fast in their thoughts and hence become more independent. They gradually form the idea of independent thinking and unwilling to always rely on their parents to solve problems. They think they are equal to adults even if they are still under 18 years old. Maybe this explains why so many young people nowadays, try to share their opinion on the family decisions, and sometimes even get angry if their ideas are ignored by their parents. Because they are endeavoring to play the same role as their parents do.

Last but not least, the cases that some young people achieve economic independence are frequently broadcasted in the media, which indicates that in some extent, young people can survive on their own rather than on their parents. And with the development of technology, selling produces online or finding a part-time job online is no more a problem to them.

In conclusion, the attempt that young people try to think like their parents, live like their parents, demonstrate that the young depend less on their parents in the past.