Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past

With rocketing development of modern society, advances in technology have made it possible for people to live a convenient and colorful life, in which they can have easy access to all the information, commodities, and resources they need. Thus some individuals suppose that people are happier than before, while others hold the opposite idea. From my perspective, I am in favor of the latter one.

Admittedly, living in modern society means people can enjoy benefits brought by technology, such as purchasing goods in another country without stepping out their house, reaching to a far area within several hours by plane. Thus, some people seem to live under the illusion that they equate convenience with happiness. However, they fail to take into account the fact that along with the convenience, more stress appears in our lives, which exerts passive effects on our emotions.

For one thing, increasing work stress have, to some extent, disturbed our normal lives with our families. Nowadays, it is common to see that mothers take their children to go to school, to play. The father, who has to support daily expense, endeavor themselves to work harder and harder, and spend tons of time in their works, in order to provide a pleasant life condition to his kid and wife. The fathers are under great pressure because they cannot afford being fired. Thus, they merely have the access to enjoy the happy time with their families.

Furthermore, people are experience more estrangement recently. People in increasing number have felt that they have few friend that are true friends. The interpersonal relations just collapse over time as the consequence of the development of technology. An illustrating example is that what happens on the way to work. Standing on the subway, it is common that everyone around just look at their cell phone, can low their heads. At times, some old man or lady need a seat, people besides can just ignore this or they merely can see it.

Based on the discussion above, in spite of the convenience from the rapid development of modern society, the pressure along with it just make people less happy. And the disadvantages far outweigh its positive sides and will play a significant role on our lives.