Some people think that parents should plan their children’s leisure time carefully. Other people believe that children should decide for themselves how to spend their free time, which idea do you agree with?

In recent years parenting became one of the hot topics in society. Some people think that parents should provide children with all possible opportunities. Others think that parents should give children more freedom from an early age. I believe that parents should help children to plan their spare time. I will explore the reasons for that in the following essay.

First of all, childhood is the most significant period in a person’s life, when we create the foundation of our personality. Consequently, these years will define the whole direction of our future life. Therefore, everyone should take the best of it. I think that parents can provide significant support in the social and emotional development of their children. It is not a secret that when we are young, we do not understand what is beneficial for us. It is true that children and young people are often suffered from different addictions, and this behavior can lead to some problems with health or study. But with the help of responsible parents, they can find a variety of interesting occupations. For example, one of my cousins spent all his free time playing computer games, and his parents did not show any concern about that. At the end of the year, he failed his exam and had to stay for another year at school. But if his parents had helped him to find a more productive and convenient hobby, he would have passed the exam.

Secondly, parents can help their children to reach their potential and find their true passion. Children do not have a rich life experience, they are judging the world considering the information that parents have given them. I strongly believe that presenting the children with all possible opportunities parents would provide them with a bright and interesting future. For example, when I was a child parents brought me to volleyball classes, acting classes, and theatre studio. I think this helps me a lot in defying my real preferences. As an adult person, I can not blame my parents that they did not give me a chance to try myself in different areas, because I have tried nearly everything when I was a child. So, now I do not have a feeling that I miss something when I was a child.

To sum up, I think that parents should help children to plan their free time. First of all, this helps children to avoid some addictions and bad habits. And secondly, this helps children to try everything and explore their abilities in order to find their real passion in life.