Movies and television strongly influence the way people behave. Do you agree or disagree? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

In the modern world, cinema has become one of the most popular cultural activities. It is for us what the theatre was for ancient Greeks, or what the literature was for people in the age of Shakespeare. I strongly believe that movies and television can significantly affect the way people behave and the way they perceive the world. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, I think that cinema and television can be great psychological tools, bringing so much inspiration and relief to our life. For example, if you suffer from some family problems, or if you have a severe break-up with your partner, It is always wonderful to watch a movie that will remind you that it is not the end of the world. Movies can provide a great example of ordinary people who struggle with problems in their life and manage to develop strength in order to build a successful future.

Moreover, I think that movies and television can be useful not only for individuals, but they can also help society as a whole. I adhere to the opinion that documentary movies and tv programs can contribute to providing more tolerance in society by raising awareness of different topics. For example, this year «Pixar» company produced their first movie with a black lead character. So, this way they will help establish this simple idea that black people are a natural part of our society. It is hard to believe but that idea was not so obvious for our ancestors. I think that cinema can play a significant role in changing society in a positive way by building critical thinking and opening up people’s minds. But if cinema provides some conservative and old-fashioned ideas the society will easily adopt them as well.

In conclusion, I believe that cinema and television can affect our lives in both positive and negative ways. It is a very powerful tool to influence society, and individuals as well. Cinema can change the way we see the world by inspiring us to embrace some new values or by presenting us with some new angles of familiar things.