Some universities expect the students to choose a major field of study when they enter the school; while other universities wait until the second or the third year before students deciding to choose a major field of study. Which do you prefer? Why or why not?

It is undeniable that the most controversial subject among students is the field in which students major. Some of the universities expect students to choose their field in the first year while some of the universities expect students to postpone it until the second or third year. Personally, I am of the opinion that the latter would be the best choice for students. I will pinpoint the point of view through two rational reasons in the following text.

The first reason to clarify my standpoint is that fresh students with different interests need more time to find their true calling. To be more specific, when a fresh student starts his/her studying in an area of science, choosing the field to major in is a big mistake since s/he is not an idea regards the new field s/he has just started to study. My own experience is a compelling example of this. My university forced me to determine my field of study in the first semester. I picked up architecture science since it was popular but after a year I figured out that it is not what I was thinking about so I had to change it. Consequently, I faced some problems with changing my field but I could manage them. Eventually, I change it to environmental design which has different approaches and matches my dream field of study. Had my university never forced me to choose my field at the beginning, I would not have faced those issues. As a result, it is vital for students to take their time then choose their field to major in.

The second reason to illustrate my outlook is that students in the second year are armed with more knowledge, thereby They would be able to pick up their field in terms of their future career. Actually, a student in the second year dramatically knows the rope more than a fresh student. The student has gotten a wider attitude toward which field of study can help him/her with a wide range of options to get a job in the future. Back to my experience of changing my field as an example again, I changed it because as an environmental designer after my graduation, I would get a job in a wide variety of different fields. Whereas, as an architecture, I had a little chance to find a job like my friend who was my classmate at first. After three years of seeking a job related to his field of study, he still is jobless. Had I never changed my field If study due to its future career, I could not have majored in a field with lots of chances to take a job.

In a nutshell, it is my confirmed conviction that picking up a field to major, for a student it is further better to choose it in the second year because the time that a student needs to take to find a field of study in which the student interests. Besides, students in the second year because of the knowledge they have acquired are more capable of choosing a better field to major in the aspect of the future career.