At some universities, students take part in making decisions about the issues that affect daily life of everyone on campus, such as how many hours that the libraries should be open each day or what kinds of food should be served in the cafeteria. But at some universities, experts are hired to make these decisions, students almost never involved. Which approach do you prefer and why?

It is widely known that campus decisions are of great significance to students. So every school takes them seriously. Some schools will allow students make decisions that affect daily life of everyone in the campus, while others will choose to let those decisions made by specific experts. Personally, I am convinced that decisions should be more likely to be made by students themselves.

It is not hard to discover that decisions made by students will bring about a number of benefits. Primarily, students are more familiar with the campus’ circumstance so that they may make decisions which are more reasonable to them. There is no doubt that campus is the place where students live. Therefore, they know what to do is the most satisfactory choice. That is to say, they are the ones who can exactly make reasonable choices for the collective students. On top of that, since these issues are more related to students themselves, they may be more motivated to do the job. For students may improve their environment by themselves, they will be more enthusiastic than those experts. For example, when it comes to the issue of stuff like campus cafeteria which is related to their diets they will certainly be stimulated to do the job.

Admittedly, some advantages can also be presented when experts make the decisions. Most importantly, experts are more professional that they are able to make better decisions to the campus. Because different people specialize in different fields that they good at, they may make the correct choice for the entire campus but not students as just a part of the campus. For instance, they may cut down the budget when the income of school is very limited.

Generally speaking, decisions should be indeed made by students themselves but not by experts. Notwithstanding, I believe that different school should base on their own situation to make the choices as in some school students may not be active about these events or some schools cannot afford to pay for the cost of inviting experts.