Some young adults want dependence from parents as soon as possible while the others prefer living with their family for long time. Say which of them you prefer and why? Explain it with specific examples.

Some argue that living independently enable one to be a better version of themself, while others counter this claim by stating that living with a family makes one more responsive to the need of others. In my own personal opinion, I believe that being dependent as soon as possible is a much better choice than living with family for long time for several reasons. I will develop my opinions in the following paragraphs.

First of all, independence gives us the freedom to pursue our dreams. I'll be the first one to admit that living with family does not necessarily means utter restriction and bondage from our own will. However, we must admit that the choice of doing what we want is much more in independent life. I have to admit that my own experience has profoundly influenced my thinking on this matter. You see, just after I graduated I was offered my dream job of software engineering in New york and I am quite sure I would have taken it. However, because of my family responsibility I could not just leave them and move to a far away city. As, a result I had to back down from my dream job.

In addition to the freedom, I believe that living alone will also prepare us for bad times. This is because, being independent means facing new responsibilities alone. We do not have the luxury of asking help from others and no matter what it is, we need to face it. Let me take my friend's personal experience to illustrate this. A while back one of my best friend shared a very interesting experience. He used to live alone far way from his family because of his work. But due to some unseen circumstances he lost his job and eventually become broke. Since, he didn't had the economic support from his family, his only option was to be strong mad make it on his own. And this was what he did. Although he struggled for some time, he never gave up and finally got another work opportunity. This entire experience taught him a very special lesson. Now he is stronger than ever and can easily overcome similar hurdle in the near future. This experience shows us an additional merit of living alone and surviving on our own.

Finally, living with family for long period may make one lazy or irresponsible. To be more specific, in a family there are others who can make up for us, when we do not want to perform a task. I'll be the first one to admit that this is not always a bad thing. Yet, over-dependence on other family members may ultimately make us lazy. For instance, let us consider a child who is excessively pampered by his family. This will inevitably proscribe the child from any learning opportunity and the child will continue being dependent on others for doing his work. This relation can be extended to the simialr condition of living with a family and living independently.

By way of conclusion, based on the arguments explored above, I'm of the opinion that in most of the cases living independently far outweighs living with family. We have better freedom for exploring our options, more opportunity of learning from our experiences and walking on a path of self-development and progression.