Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: “Reading the newspaper or online news sources is a waste of time.” Provide reasons and examples to support your opinion.

News have very important information of the world which can be positive or negative. Many people read news either online or from the newspaper. I totally disagree that reading newspaper or online news is a waste of time. I feel this way because of the several reasons which I have explored in the following essay.

First of all, any form of news whether it is from newspaper or online can be helpful to the people in getting essential information in any particular field as news contain every section of information. It gives some valuable information regarding what has been going on in our surroundings as well as around the world. My own experience has been compelling example of it. Right from my childhood, I was always fond of reading newspaper and specifically the sports section as I liked to play sports much. Along with sports, every time I was able to read something catchy going on around the world like earthquake or some natural calamities which can be helpful for me. In this way, we can get some inevitable information via reading newspaper or online news.

Furthermore, there are several advantages of reading news online. Reading news online can make the people learn about the gadgets from which they are referring. For instance, my grandfather was reading newspaper in India, he switched reading news online on Ipad which he had bought last year. After reading news for six months on ipad, he learnt how to use the Ipad more precisely. Moreover, he had taught my grand mother as well which was really amazing. In this manner, reading news online sometimes help to learn the new things.

Lastly, reading a newspaper or news online alert the people of the community or country to be safe from threats happening surrounding us before time. Natural calamities, like bad weather, wild fire, tsunami, etc. can be sometimes more dangerous for the people. Thus, such information can be known via news so that some precautionary measures can be taken in advance. For example, my cousin is living in Orlando, Florida. Every couple of years they have some kind of cyclone or tsunami as they are located near the ocean. So they get an alert in the news before time that they have to evacuate the place before tsunami or cyclone strike their house. Like wise, news may be helpful for the people to save the lives.

In conclusion, I totally disagree with the above statement that not only because the news can be informative but, also has several advantages to learn something new to the older generation as well as it helps in saving the lives of the people. Hence, it is very important to read some kind of news in this world which can be helpful to ourselves and my prove to be helpful for the community or world.