“Sometimes it is better to be dishonest.” Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

In today's sophisticated and progressive world, the importance of truth is not covered to anyone. Honesty is one of the momentous factors for communication among people. In this vein, some individuals believe that there are some circumstances that people are allowed to be dishonest while others hold the view that people mast tell the truth anytime. I totally support the idea of the latter group and the reasons clarifying my point of view are elaborated upon hereunder.

First of all, being dishonest may cause to loose friends or hurt their emotions. To be more specific, humans do not like untruth naturally and it is unpleasant for them to have relationship with people who are not honest. For example, from my own experience, when I was a university student, I had a close friend that we were spending a lot of time together. One day, when he requested a book from me, I told a lie to him, which I had lost the book. I said this because I needed the book that time. Thus when my friend found out that I had told untruth to him, he got upset and our pleasant relationship stopped because of my dishonesty. As can be seen, saying untruth can have bad affects on friends' relationships.

In addition, since children learn anything from their surrounding, being dishonest may have undesired effects on them. It is common knowledge that children are not capable of distinguishing the well behavior related to different circumstances. Therefore, when we tell a lie and justify our action, children will imitate this behavior and they will learn to be dishonest unintentionally. For instance, recent scientific research conducted by the University of Alberta researchers has shown that the majority of the children who being dishonest is their common behavior are grown up in the environment that their family did not tell the truth every time. As it is illustrated from this research, being dishonest even if in few circumstances can affect the behavior of the children.

In conclusion, not only do the not being honest can cause to loose our friends but also it can have bad effects on our children who learn anything from older family members. As a result, honesty is a momentous factor to have strong relationships and better future with honest people.