Students are more influenced by their teacher than by their friends

The prompt says that students are likely to be affected by their teachers more than their friends. However, I disagree with the prompt's statement for two reasons. First, students see themselves as rivals, which is not the case with their teachers as they see them as supervisors. Second, each student has interests that are compatible with the friends more than with the teachers. I will go deeply through each reason in the following essay.

To begin, students are usually the same age; and thus, they look at each other as competitors. This is best demonstrated by personal experience. Last year, My cousin quarreled with his brother to buy a high-brand cell phone, which was extremely expensive and wasn't suitable for their expenditures. However, my cousin insisted on buying it, although non of his teachers had that costly phone. My cousin's importune was for his feeling of competition with his friends as they have that phone. Therefore, buying the same phone put my cousin at the same level as his companion. Students always see themselves in a race; who will buy this first? Or who will be admired by this girl? Therefore, classmates influence each other more than be affected by their teachers.

Second, students always share the same interests, such as going out to have fun and eating out, and traveling from time to time. Usually, they have the same life patterns. For instance, if one has his car, the rest of the group will seek to have a car, even if that is not affordable for their families. Sharing interests will cause that everyone to look up to have what the others have. Upon my cousin's example, one day, he had an accident in his mothers' car. As time passed, we realized that the accident didn't occur by him, instead, by his friend, who was training to learn to drive to ride his mother's car too. Thus, the relationship between the classmates is more significant than their relationship with their teachers.

To sum up, I am of the opinion that teachers have no effect on the students. This is because they are not at the same age as the students or their interests. On the other hand, the students influence each other to cope with their interests, to the extent that they do unaffordable things that burden their families' shoulders.