Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends
In a lifetime, we are bound to meet many people, we get on well with some of
them and they become our friends. As we grow up we meet new people and make
new friends but it does not imply that they will replace our old ones. That is why
I disagree with people who think that keeping old friends is more important than
making new friends.
I think that there is no matter of more importance. Since old friends and new
friends do not bring us the same things, we can not compare them. Indeed old
friends are the ones we can count on; we trust them, they know us well, we have
complicity and real friendship is just wondrful. When I feel sad or when I need to
talk to someone about a serious problem, I go to see my old friends because they
are reliable and I know that they will understand me more than anyone else. My
old friends are very important to me and I agree with the fact that it is important to
keep them and make efforts to keep contact.
However, I must admit that we are bound to lose some of our old friends sometimes.
For example, I had a very good friend a few years ago but we do not see
each other anymore since I moved in an other town. I guess that we also grew up
and took a different way and there is no use to keep old friends when you realize
that you have nothing left in common.
Therefore, it is also very important to make new friends. That is a way to learn,
to change and they bring us different things. Making new friends makes us more
open-minded, and in this way we can discover new personalities. For my part I
enjoy making new friends, at school, at work, on holidays. I am conscious not to
have close relationships with them at first but I need to be with other people and
have fun. Sometimes they just remain acquaintances but they can also become
good friends who could become old friends one day. For instance, I met a german
girl on holiday two years ago and we got on very well, so we kept in touch and I
went to visit her in Germany twice. She belongs to this kind of people who you
know that they will be important in your life, and who you know you can have a
long and strong friendship with.
As a conclusion I would say that everybody need to have a at least few real and
strong friendship.