Students do reading by their own personality is as important as, or more important

than reading assigned by teachers.

In this day and age, adults tend to spend less time on books and more time on their work or study because of the rapid pace of modern life. However, everyone still attach great importance on students' reading for their betterment. Recently, a hot debate arises: whether or not it is better for students to read books that interest them then to only read those assigned as homework. Although the majority of people holds the former idea, I think there is nothing more critical than choosing books themselves for the following reasons.

First and foremost, students can benefitied enormously from reading books that fit their personality, since they are more likely to concentrate on the contents and therefore read even more. As is known to all, we all have the tendency to focus on something we really enjoy, instead of being requested to do some tasks like reading assigned books. Choosing books that parallel with one's personality means we can be more emotionally immersed while reading, which will ultimately lead us to the world described in the book. It is not har to imagine what a bad experience it would be if a introverted, speakless student had to push himself into a noisy context as his teacher asked him to, which is only a waste of energy and time.

Another point worth mentioning is the more a book fit a student, the deeper he can truely truly understand the book, and thus looking forward to reading ever more books. To state it more concisely, regarding our personality as a standard of choosing books is the core factor of finding common grounds between a reader and the book. My friend, Jack, is a good case in point. Jack is allowed to read whatever he likes, so he can finish reading almost 10 books a semester. He always has the enthusiasm as well as motivation to continue, since the book that fit to his personality can strike an echo in his heart, feeling reading even more enjoyable.

Admittedly, teachers can assign books according to the material they impart in class, and hence does well in recommending books to enhance students learning skills. Nonetheless, nothing can ever compare the joy interest provides. To put it into a nutshell, I cannot emphasize the necessity of reading books based on one's personality more due to the above statements.