Students in a university club want to help others, but they can only choose one project a year, which one of the following is the best? 1. help those students in a nearby primary school with reading and mathematics; 2. help people who cannot afford to build or rent a home to build a house; 3. visit and assist elderly people with daily tasks.

College students now have a variety of volunteer projects to choose, like helping the primary school students on their study, helping the poor people build their houses or taking care of the elders. Among all of these three projects, I believe that the second one is the best, which can be supported by the following aspects.

First off, university students helping the primary students on their reading and mathematics can have the best effect. It is evident that college students are the most suitable to help primary students learning reading and math among all the volunteers. Their deep mastery about these knowledge enable them to teach the primary students well. However, younger volunteers, like high school students, their understanding about these knowledge may not be so thoroughly as the university students. Besides, older volunteers may not recall some details or key points of these things. Hence, when university students help the kids on their study, improvement on their grades will be quite significant.

Secondly, by helping these children to study, university students can be encouraged to participate in more volunteer projects. During the process of helping the kids, students will see their elevation on grades. This makes the students realize that their work do have precious value. Therefore, they will quite possibly continue to do more volunteer work. For example, a college students help a 8-year-old boy learn reading and mathematics abilities. At the end of the semester, the boy gets A plus on his reading and math, which are the grades that he has never reached. Seeing the promotion which his work bring to the boy and imaging that he may become a great writer or mathematician in the future because of his work, the students realize that his care and help do mean a lot to the kid. After this the students will decide to contribute more to the volunteer career and help more kids.

Finally, the other two projects do have benefits for the college students, like strengthening their relationship with the local people. Yet there are more suitable people to do these work. Helping people build houses require a large amount of architect knowledge, which is quite a difficult condition for the college students to fulfill. Assisting the elders need some medical abilities or first aid skills, and not all of the university students have mastered these things. Professional engineers and nurses will do these projects better.

To summarize, professional people are more suitable to the first and third project while the second project is the best for college students to choose.