Students in a university club want to help others, but they can only choose one project a year,

which one of the following is the best?

1. Helping those students in a nearby primary school with reading and mathematics;

2. Helping people who cannot afford to build or rent a home to build a house;

3. Visiting and assisting elderly people with daily tasks.

A glance at people’s attitudes toward club activities bring to the light a question that has been asked several times, namely, whether student should assist other students in their education or undertake projects related to building house for poor people. Although most of my classmates think that it is better to build house for disadvantaged people, I, as a graduate student, believe that it is better to assist students at primary school students to understand their course materials more efficient.

The foremost reason why I am supporting this idea lies in the fact that children are the future of a country and if we do not raise well-educated children, we cannot have a developed country. To be more specific, if we have knowledgeable students, they improve the country and after several years there is no need for any assistant. If we help students to understand how to solve math questions, it is likely to find them at university several years late. Therefore, it is more essential to have great students to support our country.

Another subtle point that I should deem is the fact that all other activities have temporary outcomes, while improvement of education has permanent fruits that all can enjoy it. For example, even if we build 100 houses, after ten or twenty years they still need shelter because they cannot afford maintenance costs, and our effort is useless. Hence, it is better to help students rather than working on temporary projects.

Admittedly, there are some advantages of assisting poor people and elderly people. Recent studies show that the crime rate is higher in countries that have more disadvantaged people. It means that if we reduce the rate of poverty, young people do not commit criminal activities anymore. Nevertheless, I still think that it is not a big issue compared to the benefits of improving the education.

Due to the aforementioned argument explored in the previous statements, I highly recommend students to help elementary school student nearby in grasping their courses and build a better place to live. I wish a great future for our offsprings.