Students who are given grades work harder than those who do not. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Incentives, whatever they are, stimulate people of all ages to keep improving in whatever they get rewarded for; based on that, I believe that grades are an immensely significant way to encourage students to perform their best. I feel that way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First, students who receive grades will achieve more comprehensive knowledge in their academic subjects because they will spend more time and effort on their assignments to absorb, retain, and comprehend as much as they can and get the best possible scores. For example, in my sophomore year, I had to present my final project in the history class as an oral presentation. According to the course syllabus, that project will make up for half my total grades in that class. Therefore, I approached my work with the highest level of care and diligence; I analyzed the most updated and authentic information, spending many nights thinking of any possible issues that I might not have covered. Consequently, I wrote an excellent presentation full of accurate and informative knowledge that got well-deserved scores, and I still retain all those knowledge till now. That experience taught me how grades are crucial to engraving knowledge and producing highly educated graduates.

Second, the grading system motivates students because it is a way to determine who are the most intelligent and brightest students to get the recognition and appreciation they deserve. For instance, in my first year at college, I got enrolled in a literature class where students merely got a pass or fail grade at the end. I studied half-heartedly with the bare minimum effort to pass. In contrast, I took a graded class in the same subject in my junior year; I spent hours in the library meticulously researching my paper to impress my professor and show him that I am intellectually superior to my peers. That may appear somewhat shallow, yet in our fiercely competitive academic environment, students must distinguish themselves to stand out of the crowdedness in our vigorous world. If my professor had not graded my work, I would have never worked that hard on my assignments.

In a nutshell, I opt for the idea that the grading system is quintessential for the education process of education because it helps students to learn as much as they can. Also, it motivates the learners to distinguish themselves in our vigorous world.