Study abroad

I plan to study abroad, which will be an important experience in my life. However, there are certain advantages and disadvantages of studying abroad. Therefore, in the following paragraphs each side will be discussed and illustrated with personal experiences to support my view.

To begin, if I were to study abroad, I would have to expect to be far away from my family, even on important days. Although distance could bring some benefits to my personal growth, I would, for example, learn to take more responsibility not only to my personal care, but also for my monthly expenses, safety, and any kind of decisions. However, if I were to study out of the country presumably, I would be homesick, and as a consequence it could affect my concentration and make my life abroad more difficult than expected. Homesickness, could not only preclude my success, but also lead into psychological instability, the symptoms of which are a severe lack of energy, sudden mood swings, to name a few. I can attest this from my own experience. Eight years ago, I moved to another city to study chemistry., The first few months were the most difficult, as nostalgia invaded me and curiosity and excitement gradually decreased. So, that’s the part I don’t like about studying in a foreign country.

Secondly, another point to consider is that I would get a better education if I studied at a university with such a high ranking. There might be talented professors and effective facilities that support students worldwide who really want to improve their skills and learn from the best. Besides, I would probably have the chance to study in a class that aggregates many talented and dedicated classmates who also come from different parts of the world. Still, there are some disadvantages that I don’t like. For example, if I want to study in a country whose language is different from mine, I have to meet additional requirements, including a language certificate, which is very expensive. Likewise, I would have to pay for a student visa and a fee for foreign students, which is higher than for domestic students. Of course, I also would have to pay for rent and housing and all domestic services.

In summary, despite the homesickness and high cost, studying abroad is a unique opportunity because I will meet with excellent classmates from different countries and learn from talented teachers.