A teacher’s ability to relate well with students is more important than excellent knowledge
of the subject being taught.
No one can deny that there are both positive and negative aspects of whether its important of a teacher
to have the ability to correlate well with her fellow students rather than having an excellent knowledge
about the subject. If i were force to choose upon one i would definitely disagree with the title. It is my firm belief that
having knowledge regarding the subject is more important as its the foundation of any conversation
between the student and a teacher and if the teacher is not well versed with the subject she is teaching
than it creates a bad impressions onto students for a number of reasons and i will develop these ideas in
the subsequent paragraphs.
To begin with, i believe teachers with good knowledge can relate better with students as it makes the
class understand every topic in depth and while studying if students raise doubts ,with the help of a
clear, understandable and meaningful answer it will make students more keen to study upon and
evaluate their understanding. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been influenced by my
own personal experience. When i was in my engineering college we had this professor who was
excellent in the subject she was teaching and although her way of delivery of lecture was not up to the
mark she tried different ways to make it possible for students to understand well of what she was
teaching. She provided with her handwritten notes which were like the bible to that subject, she
conducted seminars and debates on few topics and also before exams she took extra personal classes
for the students who were slow learners. This way everyone received a distinction in the subject she
taught, for this reason i feel knowledge is more important as it automatically helps you find ways to
relate well with your students.
Secondly, if the teacher is excellent in her field it makes the student's mind make a good impression
about her education and the depth of knowledge she has. Drawing from my own experience i had a
professor who was excellent in the subject of database and the way she related with the students by
providing notes, ppts, industrial visits and many more she won our hearts and got a title of best teacher
from we students. This positive image and vibes of her made me as a student to excel in the field she
has done expertise in and i did my final year project under her and loved the subject so much that i
made my decision to make a career into what she taught us.
In conclusion i am of the opinion that a teacher should possess well knowledge about the subject she is
teaching and not put much weight upon how well she is relating with the students as this is because it
helps a teacher herself to find ways for relating with the students if she has confidence in what she is
teaching and also it leaves a positive mark onto the students mind and helps them make their career
and her image as a best teacher always stays forever in their hearts.