Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As the advanced education progressed during the past few years, this, however, put the role of teacher under reexamination. Although some may argue that teachers are more appreciated in the current age resulted from the increasing amount of emphasis put on education. I strongly opposed to this view as they failed to consider the following aspects.

To begin with, the social status of teachers is not considered to be prestigious nowadays. As the saying goes, when a thing is scarce it is precious. When my parents were children, there is no one who completed a college degree before, making school teachers the most knowledgable person in their life and their authority was established. As a direct consequence of education development, more schools and universities have emerged along with a considerable size of teachers, which makes this profession easier to achieve and therefore less appreciated.

Furthermore, numerous resources are available, enabling self-learning without the present of teachers. For example, Internet is my best friend when I encounter problems in my homework. It can provide me with access to different methods derived by people all over the world with elaborate explanations and suggested related problems as well. Therefore, the demand for teachers have been remarkably decreased as they are no longer the only person to seek for help.

Lastly, the value of a social group sometimes lie in their financial condition. The salaries for teachers are considered to be average compared with various occupations. Students graduate from college would probably pursue lucubrious positions such as engineers, where teachers never top the list these days. The unwillingness of being a teacher with minor salary also contributes to the regression of their prestige.

In summary, teachers are less appreciated and valued nowadays because of the oversupply of teachers, less demanding students and poor salary. The crucial role of teacher should be rehabilitate to ensure the success of the society.