Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past that they were nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Currently, society has witnessed an unprecedented accumulation of material affluence, thus city dwellers are attaching more importance to education. A myriad of individuals harbor the idea that teachers are not appreciated by society compared to the past, while other contends that teachers are still well-respected more than ever before. Personally speaking, I do concur with the former view and this can be substantiated as follows.

To start with, nowadays, with the emergence of advanced technology, teachers are not the mere authorities existing in the students' world. To be more specific, students, equipped with electronic devices, are inclined to amass theoretical knowledge from varieties of approaches, like the online database or other platforms. What they can attain from those approaches is more profound than the knowledge imparted by their teachers, hence they show less respect for their teachers. Meanwhile, in modern society, students are apt to accumulate more pragmatic knowledge, however, those teachers, without sufficient time to update their knowledge reserve, fail to reach out their hands to answer this kind of questions, which makes students reckon that their teachers are not eminent enough and they are not worthy of esteeming. The research conducted to evaluate students' attitude toward their teachers demonstrates that 88% students contend that although their teachers are hard-working, they do not think they are well-respected due to teachers' lack in some specialized knowledge, especially those students who are geared toward specific domains of a subject to participate academic competitions. This data illuminates that with the advancement of technology, students are resorting to other methods of amassing information, therefore it is self-evident that the status of teachers is declining.

What's more, the declining thresholds is another cause of the less appreciation toward teachers. With the prosperity in the education industry, there is an increasing number of educational institutions continuously emerging, which are varied in qualities. Hence, people from all walks of lives, without any qualification or thresholds, are entitled to enter such institutions to become teachers to offer guidance not only in academic performance but also in some other domains, like learning of foreign languages, studying abroad or others. However, not all of them are qualified enough to become teachers, those so-called teachers without sufficient accumulation of knowledge tarnish the reputation of teachers and leave a bad impression on some individuals, which is self-evident that why teachers are not valued by the general public compared to the past. Meanwhile, the corrupt existing in parts of teachers also exert detrimental effects on the public's impression toward teachers. Concretely, a bunch of teachers, due to their moral decline and desire for wealth, asking their students' parents to give them more money or other gifts, which makes parents reckon that it is unfair and disrupts the regular teaching disciplines. However, forced by their fear of teachers’ revenge toward their tender children, they have to abide with teachers’ requires without any struggle.

Admittedly, some of students and adults are still showing enough respect for teachers, however, they do not behave as students in ancient history to regard teachers as their parents for life long period.

In a nutshell, from what has been mentioned above, teachers are not appreciated and cherished by society nowadays than in the past. For one thing, students are rendered with diversified approaches to studying. For another, the declined threshold of being a teacher does exert detrimental to teachers' reputation.