Teachers were more appreciated and valued by the society in the past than today

In any society, the educational system is of high importance, and teachers, as a noticeable element in the development of education, should be considered and valued. With this in mind, some people contend that nowadays, in comparison to the past, teachers are not cherished as much as they deserve. I do believe that this statement is true and I will elaborate on my viewpoint in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, we live in an era in which technology and science are flourishing at a galloping rate, and as a result, lots of platforms have been created that students can use to gain information. Conversely, In the past, the internet was not developed on large scale and people had no-or at best restricted- access to the internet and data. Being the only resource for gaining knowledge, teachers played a decisive role in the success of students. Keeping this in mind, students felt they owed their teachers and respected them. To clarify, nowadays a great number of students think that classes are dispensable and they are reluctant to attend the class since they think they can learn by downloading tutorial videos or watching online classes. Hence, they do not respect their teachers and appreciate them very much.

Furthermore, as we all know, in this hectic era, money can be an indicator of a person's prosperity and importance. If people assume that teaching is a hard job and has a profound impact on the progress of society, they should ask the government to increase teachers' income. But, in contrast with the past, nowadays teachers' income is classified in the lowest incomes and they are deprived of welfare. So, how individuals can claim that they appreciate teachers while they are careless about the comfort of teachers?

To sum up, taking into account what was already mentioned, I contend that teachers nowadays are less appreciated not only because they lack sufficient income but also as a result of enormous information available on the internet that makes their profession less important.