Technology provides us with a lot of means to communicate. But now that people have the ability to talk to each other in a wider variety of methods, our communication and social abilities have taken a step back.

Why does technological advance hurt nontechnical communication?

How can we solve this problem?

With the vigorous development of technology, there are hundreds of means to communicate in this day and age. Despite a great number of advantages to human beings, the degradation in social interaction is attributed to the addiction to modern techniques and poor interpersonal communication, which can be addressed by offering them communicative training courses.

First of all, people lack interpersonal communication due to the overuse of ungraded techniques. Needless to say, some people are so inclined to strongly rely on the convenience of the social platforms such as Messengers and Skype that they take the necessity of nontechnical communication for granted. As a result, they suffer from a serious lack of communication skills when making a presentation in public or even talking in person with somebody else. Illustratively, some people have a habit of writing fragments while texting, thus driving them baffled to make a full presentation.

Secondly, the multitudes’ addiction toward social media in communicating are expressed perceptibly. Now that there is so much compelling information on the Internet, people literally become addicted to the Internet and cell phones. Consequently, this addiction leads to different kinds of anxiety disorders, namely self-isolation and crowd phobia. For example, there was a boy who always chatted when he had free time instead of hanging out with friends. After a long time of having seen him talk to himself, the little boy’s parents figured out that he suffered from autism. Only when they moved the boy to a social class did he overcome his issue.

An effective solution which should be followed to tackle the aforementioned problem is to offer young people communicative classes. Once receiving training, students can learn how to effectively use social media so that they can make use of the advantages that technological enhancement brings back. For instance, always does my teacher spend a period organizing a communicative lesson to equip us with essential skills. She teaches us how to write an appreciated email to impress job recruiters, or how to fully and concisely manifest our ideas through a message.

In short, people will probably face a lack of interpersonal communication and even mental blights if they exaggerate the need for social media. In this case, a communication class is needed to guide the students.