television advertising directed toward young children(aged two to five) should not be allowed

The author of the statement stated that television advertising directed toward young children(aged two to five) should not be allowed. Many of us will argue that it will hold all the time, while others will counter the statement. In my essay, I will highlight both the side of the statement and will provide the sound reasoning for the same.

Television advertisements have both good and bad effects on young children aged two to five, for example, my niece who is five years old and likes watching television a lot. One day she saw an advertisement that wearing a jacket will make her fly in the sky and after watching that advertisement, she starts asking for this jacket like anything and tried to do everything to get it, because she wants to fly like the child in the advertisement did, but in reality, it is not possible. So advertisement on television has a direct impact on children. The children don’t know how to react to these advertisements and just do what the advertisement says.

But advertisement on television has a good impact on children also, again I will explain this with my niece reaction to a television advertisement. One day she was watching TV and in an advertisement, she saw that if she will drink milk every day she will become a superhero. And this advertisement directed her to drink milk every day. My whole family was trying their level best to make her drink milk every day, but they failed every single day. But this advertisement did the job in just a few minutes. So, the advertisement might have a positive impact also on children's behavior.

Last but not the least, I think the product owner should the responsibility to evaluate the advertisement before broadcasting, especially if the advertisement is for children. Because a child won't have that much sense to understand what is good or bad for them. Or the advertising broadcaster or the government should take a call whether the advertisement for the children aged between 2 to 5 should get broadcast on the television or not.

In nutshell, some of the advertisements are good for children and some have a bad impact on them. So to protect children from getting badly impacted by the advertisement, the government or the product owner must be vigilant and must take proper action to avoid the advertisement that will have a bad impact on children.