television has a positive impact on kids or has a negative impact on their behavior

In the last three decades, television has affected children's behaviors drastically. Some people believe that television has various drawbacks on children's attitudes; however, there is a substantial body of evidence claims that television could benefit children in many life aspects. From a personal perspective, the former point of view carries more weight given that TV influences children's behaviors, grades and health in a negative way. Below I will strive to explain my supporting points in more details.

The first and foremost point, since television has many violent and terrifying shows, it has a detrimental effect on children. Watching these shows could contribute to many aggressive behaviors, nightmares and fear from being harmed. A study done by The American Academy of Pediatrics found that children who watch television for a long time are more likely to commit an act of violence than those who watch less. Consequently, television has a bad effect on kids' manners.

Next, coupled with bad behaviors, low grades are another drawback of television. A vivid example that could be given to shed light on that developed countries, such as Canada and the Us have media technology that offers more ways to access TV contents through the internet, iPads or cell phones, which increase time spent watching television. Provided that students spend a long time in front of the TV, they could not focus on their studying, which negatively affects their academic performance. Furthermore, television discourages kids from reading, which is crucial to foster their brain function and promote their ability to think. Therefore, TV has a detrimental effect on young people's mental well-being.

Ultimately, children who are accustomed to watching television have low physical fitness. To put it in other words, recently, television has influenced kids' nutritional intake dramatically. Many junk food companies, such as McDonald's and Burger King, target kinds on their advertisements on television. Provided that children are routinely exposed to this kind of food, they could suffer from many diseases, such as juvenile diabetes and high blood pressure. Moreover, this food could add onto young people's weight and eventually lead to obesity. In addition to that, television could increase kids' sedentary lifestyle and take time away from healthy activities, such as soccer and swimming, which need more practice to be skillful. As a result, television has bad effects on children's health.

Taking everything into consideration, without a doubt, televIsion's drawbacks on kids' lives outwEIgh their benefits. Not only because it minimizes young people's academic performance, but also it harms their physical fitness. It suggested that parents control what their kids watch on TV and limit their screen time up to one or two hours daily.