TOEFL essay Some movies are serious designed to make the audience think Other movies are designed primarily to amuse and entertain Which type of movie do you prefer Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Each kind of movie has its own fans and viewers. Personally, I disagree with the statement that it’s better to watch serious movies than comical ones. There are several reasons why I feel this way, which I will elaborate on in the following essay.

To begin with, serious movies might not be to everyone's taste. To be more specific, this kind of film requires us to think a lot and we have to concentrate on all details in plots. As a result, we may be really tired after watching them. For example, I watched a movie called “The Space Adventure”. The plot of this film was so complicated that I couldn’t enjoy watching it. Although I put all my effort into understanding the story and figuring out messages the director was trying to express, I ended up with confusion after watching it. I was so frustrated and regretted buying the ticket for it.

Furthermore, serious movies are not suitable for me to watch with my family. I have a younger brother who is only 5 years old. To spend quality time with all my family members, amusing movies are largely the first choice for us. We can laugh together, connect with each other, and create an enjoyable atmosphere. However, serious ones demand a very serious atmosphere without any noises and interruptions, so we can understand the story. Additionally, my little brother might not be able to enjoy the movie because the plot is too complicated for him. Accordingly, comic movies are definitely the better choice for us.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that movies for amusement or entertainment are better than serious ones that require a lot of thinking. This is because the comic movies are more relaxing and suitable for my family members.