Which of the following can best determine whether a friendship will last for a long time? Friends always help each other out in a crisis or trouble; friends have similar interests and similar views on important issues; they trust each other unconditionally.

Most people in the world agree that friendships are indispensable to a happy life. Personally, I believe that having similar interests and values can help us build a durable friendship. There are several reasons why I feel this way, which I will elaborate on in the following essay.

To begin with, we can spend time together and enjoy hobbies together. To be more specific, if I have similar interests with my friend, we are able to consume leisure time together and build intimate relationships. Take myself for example. I have a friend, Bob, who loves baseball as much as I do. We often spend weekends and play baseball together. Occasionally, he invited me to watch professional baseball games with him. In those moments, we shared emotions, discussed our favorite team, and created an enjoyable atmosphere. We maintain a great and long-lasting friendship because we have a hobby in common.

Furthermore, having similar opinions on important issues can eliminate conflict happening with friends, which is harmful for maintaining friendship. Inevitably, conflicts might occur if people stand for different views on problems. For instance, we may have different values about money, career, and life with our friends. In these cases, we cannot guarantee that friction won’t bring negative effects to friendship. Therefore, if they think the same way as we do, it would be easy to create a stable relationship.

In conclusion, I maintain that similar hobbies and views can help us strengthen our friendship. This is because we can spend cozy time together and avoid potential conflicts between each other.