A university wants to improve the quality of life for students who reside in a dormitory on campus. Which ONE of the following things do you think the university should spend money on for this purpose, and why?

-Providing a room for quiet study

-Building an exercise room so that students can improve their physical well-being

-Providing space for entertainment (for example, a place where students could watch films together)

The great majority of people agree that universities are excellent places for students to gain knowledge and meet friends. Personally, I believe that it’s better for the university to spend money on providing a room for quiet study. There are several reasons why I feel this way, which I will elaborate on in the following essay.

First of all, the main purpose of college students is to gain knowledge that helps them excel in their career, and the university should provide them a comfortable environment for them to achieve their goals. Take computer science major students for example. In order to become a great engineer, they are required to study diversified subjects, such as data structure, algorithms, and so on. Those subjects are very difficult and need a high concentration to profoundly absorb the knowledge. Accordingly, it is a good idea if the university can provide them a quiet room for studying. They can be more efficient and concentrate on gaining specialized knowledge.

Furthermore, dormitories are usually very noisy and not suitable for students to study. Therefore, they might need a better place to work on their school work. In dormitories, students will make noises while playing video games and chatting with friends, which might distract those who want to study. Because of this issue, I think it will be great if the school gives them a cozy place to do their assignments and study for their tests.

In conclusion, I maintain the idea that the dormitory students demand a quiet place for them to study. This is because they come to the university to gain useful knowledge and they need a suitable room to concentrate on their school work.