TOEFL essay: Why go to university?

Attending college or university can change people personalities! There are many reasons for attending Universities. In the following paragraphs, I will shed some light on some reasons.

To start with, University makes a person, a professional. Not only he gains knowledge, but also learns to implement that knowledge practically. It happens that college makes him a master of the field and he eventually becomes a valuable human resource to the society, whose expertise can be utilized for development in society. I have my own compelling example, Before going to the university I had an ordinary job at a supermarket; i did not used to get a good salary and obviously, could not be of much help to the society. But after going to the university and eventually becoming a successful doctor, I am able to serve the society in much better way, now I work with NGO, do clinic in a government hospital out-patient department and also take few classes on personal development in a school. This give me much more job-satisfaction. Not only that but also more money.

Another advantage to be mentioned here is that, a person gets a chance to groom himself. To be more specific, in University there is diversity, from culture to personalities, from social class to accents, from habits to food options. Mixture of different culture means, getting the chance to meet different people, observing there behavior, dealing with them and hence a chance to learn from this all. Furthermore, living alone and managing finances is not easy, so this gives students the chance to be more independent, learning and striving for survival, by working part-time or even in university as TA or lab assistant. Hence, grooming curve goes steeply up during the years university. There is a study that proves this standpoint, a comparative study was done in US, comparing different aspects of same students in high school and then in university. The aspects which were compared were language use, manners, perspective towards life, transparency, and some other traits.

I firmly believe that going to university have some great effects on the students, and these effects combine together to bring a positive change in society and also leads to its development. I believe as educationalist it is our duty a to bring teenagers towards the idea of higher education. Of course, we want our society to grom in every positive aspect, don'"t we?