TOEFL essay: Do you agree or disagree with following statement? It is better to be a member of a group than to be the leader of a group. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Essay topics

Doing a job is not easy. When we take up a job, we are hired as team members. Main job of the team members is to come up with ideas, and then there is your boss, whose main job is to check your progress and guide you in every aspect of the job. These members eventually become team leaders! If somebody ask my point of view, I will definitely prefer working as a team member. I have got couple of reasons to support my point of view. I will explain them in the text that follows.

To start with, when we are working as team members we are considered armatures, we are provided guidance and support at every level, which definitely help us learn a lot. Not only that but also in the meeting we can share our innovative ideas and given extra credit for that. Moreover, we do not have much responsibility, so at times we can be care free and have lots of fun while we work. I have an instance from my life to quote. When I started my first job in a small firm, I used to work nine to three. I had many friend and we used to party after that, but later when i got promoted, I had to work for more than twelves hours at times, it started getting hectic. Not to mention the great responsibility that came with it. My other friends had the same routine; job,party, sleep and then repeat but my life went crazy.

Another reason to be mentioned here is that, leader not only have a lot of responsibility on his shoulder but also his life is full of stress, sometimes have to take sleeping pills. Moreover, he have to be vigilant, active and presentable almost all the time. Most importantly, leader has to make sure that everybody is participating fully, they have to monitor the progress of the employees and also has to take every final decision, which is stressful! Not to mention the work he has to do over time. Furthermore, there patience is being tested at every turn. I should mention the story of our team leader Dr. Mumtaz, she is a leader of a group of doctors. Every week she spend three nights in hospital, just in case a serious patient comes during late hours. Not only that she even do not have time spend with her family and at times she have to take citalopram, an anti-depressant. She says her life is a mess!

To sum up I believe it is better to have a happy and care free life by being a member in a group, instead of working for so many hours and throwing your health down the drain, to work as a leader.