TOP53-task2

In this turbulent economic situation, it is imperative for governments to determine their funding targest correctly. Theneed for a high quality internet access in this internet-crazed world is undeniable and many think that it is one of the government's obligation even more important than improving public transportation. But I would argue that transportation infrastructures are more crucial, besides the internet accses can attract private funding.

To begin with, as the population in cities grows, the communication rate increases and if al these people want to use their vehicles the consequnet traffic issues as well as environmental issues would be mounting. The global warming effects due to increasing carbon emission resulted from using fossil fuels apparent to everyone. Government as a leading player could tackel this issue by providing proper public transportation systems which are not only affordable and environmentall friendly, they are also a way to reduce traffic jams. Furthermore, the revenue from fares of these systems can be used in order to diminish other environmental issues.

On the other hand, demand for internet connection is an integral part of today's life and there is no alternative for it; unlike public transportation systems can be replaced by using private cars. Thus poeple will pay for improving access quality to this cyberspace as an important par of their costs. Besides, nowadays, private funding welcomed by many areas, and internet connection could be a compelling tagert for it. In this respect, I can examplify my hometown; previously internet comanies were under the cover of government but some other cometitor private comanies came into the play from about 10 years ago. After that not only did the quality of the internet access improve significantly, also the price of the connection decreased bacause of the rivalry among internet companies.

In conlusion, improving the public transportation systems is a more rational tager for governmental funding rather than improving internet access. This is because of the crucial impact of these system on environmental and traffic issues.