TOPIC# 14 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People benefit more from traveling in their own country than from traveling to foreign countries. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, travelling is a fairly popular activity to spend vacations, mainly owing to it has become more affordable than in the past decades. Whether is more advantageous do it in your own country or visiting foreign lands, though, is a matter of intense debate. As far as I am concerned, I firmly believe that to have the opportunity to be in new places is more enjoyable and favorable for all the family than domestic travelling. this position is based on two main reasons that will be analyzed more thoroughly below.

To begin with, visiting foreign cities improve the general culture of the youngsters while enjoy of an outstanding experience. Everyone that had known a new culture, can attest that do not exist a better way to acquire knowledge about a civilization that to life for some days surrounded of their culture and customs. An appealling example of that was my trip to the ancient Aztecan city of Teotihacan. when I was a freshman university student, thanks to an cultural exchange, I had the oportunity to spend two days with their nights in that amazing city. I thought to find ruins and remains of an prehispanic civilization, but in change, I saw a very well conserved city where you can feel the history still live in your skin. we arrived accompanied of a local native guide, which told us the histories of his ancesters. Those anecdotes, seeing how they lived, trying the food that they used to eat, hearing their music and learn about their culture and religion, was more beneficial for us than two or three years of lessons in a class room. Next, when we that magic and instructive experience was end, I wrote a my thesis of grade using all that cumul of knowledge acquired. The thesis was so exceptional that was worthy of the award “Best Historcal Research of the Year” given by the faculty of history of my university.

Another reason that support my opinion is that to know different places help us to be more tolerant and give away bad actitutes like the racism or the fear toward the foreigners. For example, last summer I was in the arabian city of Kabul. Before arrived, I was a little nervious due to the histories that I have heard about the arabic people were not quite positive. However, thanks to I was able to know local people and to speak with them I notice that they are exactly like us, with tha same fears and aspiration. Moreover I learn that not all are terrorist and that the Coral do not encourages the hate toward the occidental civilization, like many means of comunication want make us believe. that experience learned me that the more people travelling and relate with other culture, the more tolerant and less ignorant are.

In summation, I am of the opinion that visiting new cities and learning about different civilization is better to travelling aroung our own country. this is not only it enhance our culture and knowledge, but also it help us to open our mind and improve our morals in reffent to foreigner people. Therefore, if I have to give and advice to the new generations, it would be, travelling aroud the world and learn all that you can, because that definitely will improve us as human beigns.