TOPIC # 56 A company is going to give some money either to support the arts or to protect the environment. Which do you think the company should choose?

Nowadays, a prime and fundamental controversy on the issue whether a successful business must assist to an art group or an environment NGO. Some people would claim that modern life badly affected the environment and we must protect it from a disaster. However, as far as I am concerned, I agree that whole society can get influence by a supported artist, who works especially on saving the environment, for two following reasons.

The first and foremost reason that I prefer to illustrate is the effects that every art movement can have on a society. A relevant example can shed light on this assertion. 5 years ago, I joined to a company, as an art director, that was working on the duality of art and environment. Therefore, I managed to design site-specific art projects in which we invited people outside of the city to spend time in a group. consequently, each individual started to behave better to the place that we were in.

Another reason that should be taken into account is that the government spends money on saving the environment but there are hundreds of jobless artists around the country. For instance, according to a recent research study at George Washington university, the most part of students who studied arts at GWU doesn't have any sign of hope related to a future job. Moreover, young generation of artists believes that they are becoming poorer after university time. consequently, in gallery managers and experts opinion, an increase of the level in creativity between all members of a society can be reachable by spending money to art communities.

To sum up, I firmly believe that by assisting an artist by a company not only the problems of environment reduces but also new artists can have a better quality of life. The first reason that we must consider is the effects of an artist on every matter such as concerns about the environment. What is more, the government is responsible to the environment but can not invest in the art.