TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

Universities and colleges play an important role in shaping the students' character. They do this through multiple academic and non-academic activities like sports and social events. Thus, I completely agree with the statement that these activities should earn an equal financial support as the classes and libraries. I feel this way for the following reasons.

To begin with, sports play an essential role in maintaining the student’s fitness physically and mentally. Through sports activities, students can get rid of all the negative energies and the stresses that face them and replace it with positive ones. In addition, sports help them to build new relationships with their peers even from different fields. This participates to a large extent in enhancing their academic performance due to the fact that researchers have proven that students who involve in sport or any social activities are more prone to success in their studies. For instance, during the freshman year at the university, I was a member of the college’s soccer team, which gives us a good opportunity to know new people and constrict long lasting relationship with my colleagues. Moreover, it made me more motivated to study, so, I gained a high degree in all the subjects. Thus, I believe that more money should be spent to improve the playground and to build new ones.

Furthermore, social activities can be beneficial to both the university and the pupils. So, colleges must invest more in this field. Studying the textbook will be worthless if the students are not able to apply what they learned to improve their society. For instance, during my second year at the university, our team won the national debate competition among other universities. That enables us to participate in the international debate competition which was held at Malaya University. So, we had the opportunity to compete with top colleges from all over the world. And again we win the first position. So, we succeed to make the name of our university well known around the globe. Since that time, more students have been attracted to our institution. Thus, the university should invest equally in both the academic and non-academic classes.

In conclusion, sport and social activities are as important as much as the classes and libraries.