TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

There has been much discussion revolving around the issue of whether sports and social activities should have equal financial support as classes and libraries. In my opinion, universities usually invest money in the activities which have a good influence on student’s life. And I believe that sports and social life obviously is a significant thing in student’s life. I will explain my position proving examples to support my point of view.

First of all, I believe that sports are not only exciting, but also a healthy activity to do. To support this idea I would like to make an example from my experience. I was always into the sports. During university, I was playing tennis and jogging in our university’s sports club. I am really excited that our university built the sports centre, and new building attracted lots of students. So, I also started to visit the centre and met there a lot of friends from different faculties. I also really benefit from this, because I was able to improve my health and to participate in various university’s campaigns. Considering this example, I would definitely think that sports centre would be a great improvement of the university.

Secondly, It is obvious that social activities are signifying for making new friends. Sometimes, people find their own company of people in university and stay with them as good friends for the whole life. Good environment for communication can bring them new ideas which they tend to realize. Life brimming over with the examples of this. Just to mention some famous people, which opened a company with their friends while they were at the university. They probably were able to do this, because they were in really creative and innovative environment which was provided by their university. I believe that good social atmosphere and investment of university support in developing of this atmosphere is important for students because they tend to communicate more. During this communication they can exchange with ideas and this ideas can grow into something more, like new business or breakthrough idea.

In conclusion, I want to say that I truly support the idea that sports and social activities are important in universities and colleges. I hope, that the examples, given above, have sufficiently expressed my opinion.