TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

In this set of material the reading and the listening passages are discussing the Altruism, given explanation of this term and examples to support the main idea. Nevertheless, the reading and the listening passage are completely contradictory. In fact, whereas the reading passages puts forward the view that altruism has not a beneficial or is not a selfish act. The listening argues the opposite and it gives the reasons for holding its opinion.

First of all, the reading develops the claim that altruism is a good act, a feature of a noble human being, which involves personal sacrifices. Nevertheless, we can find altruism examples not only reflected in the human acts, even the animals reveal this behavior. For example, in the meerkats society there are individual who are in charge of looking out for predators, they take that challenge and make a sacrifices due to their lives are on risk.

However, the listening casts doubt on the information in the reading passages, due to the fact that the altruism is not at all an unselfish act with a sacrifice. For holding this point of view the listening introduce us to the same meerkats society. The meerkast who is responsible about looking out for predators as hawks, has the opportunity of be the first to scape after give the alarm for the other members. In contrast, the hunter meerkat which are looking for food, are more vulnerable to be attack by the hawks, in this point of view the true animal with an altruism behavior is the hunter. The second example given in the listening is about the human who donate a kidney. They receive some in exchange, the society approval, a invaluable reward, and in this case is not altruism behavior at all.

That is how both, the listening and the reading passages support and give the examples about what is an authentic altruism behavior.