TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

Sports and social activities are the essential parts of our lives especially if we consider the side effect of modern technologies on our physical and mental health. Undoubtedly, without exercising we will encounter many serious physical problems. At the same time lack of social activity obviously takes opportunities away from you by bringing you into mental conflicts. Sports and social activities, being just as important as classes and libraries and therefore receiving financial support, some students sure believe that it is a great idea and some may oppose it. I strongly believe, attaching that importance to sports and social activities at universities and colleges is essential for two important reasons.

The main reason is that you can find friends which is very helpful in keeping you away from mental health problems. Joining a sports team or attending a social group, you will be separated into smaller groups in order to have competition or interaction with each other. Group members have to keep a strong team spirit and friendship if they want to be succeeded. For example, when I was a student at the university I joined a football team as a mandatory course in which we were separated into three groups and then we had competitions. Gradually and during the games, the group members became wonderful friends and even years after the football games we are still close friends. As you can see, we would not have had this friendship without joining a football team within the university's sports course.

Another reason is that sports and social activities can build up your physical health and strength. Approximately all sports and similar activities require some mobility and active muscles. Mobility and muscle activity bring in better circulation and therefore lower possibility to catch cardiovascular diseases. Most of the students who might have had the least physical activities during their education, have to enroll these courses and follow the schedule in which they do regular exercises and consequently increase their physical health. For instance, before joining the football team I had high cholesterol level and I was advised to do exercises. Since we had to exercise three sessions per week after two months my cholesterol level was decreased. This experience taught me that sports and physical activities are very beneficial for your health.

In sum, even though with these clear manifestations there are still people that may oppose the plan, sports and social activities are essential parts of any study programs universities and colleges. Not only will the sports and social activities help you find good friends but also the physical activities keep you away from various mental and physical diseases. Every university and college should continue to financially support sports and social activities.