TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

Physical and social activities at school can contribute into your academic success as well as impacts on your mental and physical health to an extend of enjoyment and relaxation. However, considering them equal to our classes and libraries is not what I strongly agree to. And monetary supporting these activities will not really aid in the development of the student's ability to compete in the growing society or simply to learn.

Firstly, our classes and libraries help us to learn different skills and gain academic knowledge that we need in order to build our career and support our lives with. Learning different subjects in schools and universities can only be done through a well structured process through class schedules, tests, exams, course work, teachers and assignments. If all of these are not in place then we will not be able to figure out whether we want to be doctors, accountants, engineers etc or even get educated enough to get a good job. For example, Abraham Lincoln, George Washington, Bill Gates and many more would not have been where they are now. They were only able to achieve their dreams by studying hard and they did this by studying in good universities that focused on their academic side more than sports or social activities.

Investing into hiring good teachers help students decide better on what they really want to do and pursue as a career. If my school was not able to spend well at the academic side then I would have not been where I am now. For example, when I was young, I always wanted to be a scientist however, as I grew up and learnt different subjects I changed my mind and wanted to become a doctor. Later, at college level I further learnt more subjects such as Accounting, Business and Economics. There, I was able to find out that I wanted to be an Accountant because I was always good with numbers and I felt that I will do much better in Finance. This was all achievable when I first learnt about different majors in the college and because the school I was studying in spent most on hiring good teachers, maintaining strict studying schedules and keeping well updated coursework. I was then able to get good grades in my finals. Also, i am positive that once I get my degree i will be able to get a job.

Secondly, not many people choose to be a sports person or even pay attention to social activities. Because in almost every school that we go to, most of them are competing with each other from an academic point of view. When it comes to organizing for field trips, stage drama, proms or even a sports game, many are only interested to attend those events for the sake of enjoyment. There cannot be a career out of it. Also, financially supporting them is not beneficial to students not even to the schools. For example, When I was in grade 4, my school was focused on training us for the independence day event that was being held at the stadium. We were trained every day by our class teachers, monitors, sports teachers and even by the principal. Because of this, all of the students were held back in schools for 2 hours everyday to practice and this went for like a month. All of the students were tired all the time and did not learn anything in class during that time. Therefore, our finals were postponed to a later date. Not only this but our principal also hired professional army trainers to train all the students. In the end we won the trophy as a reward but had no monetary gain. It was a complete waste of time and nothing else.

Physical sports do help us to maintain our bodies and there maybe some students who played sports more and became professional football players but most of them end up being football coaches earning much less than any other profession. Social activities, such as, being a part of a news letter society in the school, or being a part of an event organizing society, can help us develop friendship or earn extra credit hours but they do not bring any major benefit to the student besides serving the purpose of entertainment.

Libraries are another contributing factor to the development of knowledge and skills as it is a source of free books and materials that a student can access to do in order to learn. Investing into good books and computer software ( that manages paperless books ) is a quick and easy access for any student who cannot afford to buy books or to get help in preparing for assignments and increasing more knowledge.