TPO-02 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today's world, maintaining a healthy relationship is extremely difficult. There are many aspects of our behavior we need to take into consideration. There is no doubt in my mind that telling the truth is the best way for the strong foundation of a relationship. However, is it better to always tell the truth? Some people think always telling truth is the desirable quality for a long-lasting relationship. On the other hand, I believe telling the truth always also has some downside and sometimes it is better not to tell the truth. I feel this way for few reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

To begin with, telling small lies to people who we care about encourages them. Human beings are competitive in whatever task they do and they want to be the best. If they know that they achieve impressive results in whatever tasks they are doing, people get motivated and give their hundred percent. My husband is a compelling example of what I mean. Last year my husband signed up for the marathon in my city. I knew that he would struggle even to finish the race, but I wanted him to feel confident in his abilities. Accordingly, when he asked me what I think, I lied and told him he had has the chance of finishing in the top ten. This small lie kept him motivate before and during the race, though he did not win the race, he dedicated himself to the training for the marathon.

Furthermore, telling truth is certainly the best way to build a healthy relation, but sometimes unpleasant truth leads to high level of anxiety. For instance, last week my colleague asked what do I think about her new hairstyle. I was honest and told her, I thought it looks terrible. Even though she did not show any anger on my remarks, she felt bad about my comment. My truth led to high level of anxiety in me and my productivity reduced to half for that day. I spent the whole day thinking I jeopardized our relationship and she might not be friendly with me ever again. Had I simply told her her hair looked great, I would have avoided all those feelings.

Moreover, there is no question in my mind telling truth makes you a better person in front of others and also many people thinks that it is a very important trait in a person, but we cannot deny the fact that there are many people who do not like the truth when it is not in favor of the person about whom who are talking and this leads to downfall in the career. My own experience when I was looking for a job in a corporate firm is a great example of what I mean. Two years back when I started looking for a job, my former professor advised me to be truthful in my interview and I followed his advice. As a result, I was very upfront and told whatever I felt about the company and goals of joining the company, but this was not acceptable to the Interviewee. Unfortunately, I did not get the job because of my honesty. Following year, I prepared for the interview and twisted the truth little bit to sound good in front of my interview and guess what I was immediately hired.

All in all, I strongly always telling the truth is not always acceptable. When we tell lies sometimes we encourage people to d good, also it saves the relationship as unpleasant truth is not always acceptable to many people.