TPO-46 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.Use specific reasons and exam

There is no doubt in my mind that famous celebrities have a great influence on people's life. However, does it influence younger generation more than the older? Everyone has their own opinion about this. According to me, prominent entertainers and athletics have a profound effect on young people. I believe this for specific reasons which I will explain in the following essay.

To begin with, these days, teenagers are more involved in watching television and more active on social media than the people in the past. This is the biggest reason why young children are more influenced by famous personality. In the past, older people had limited access to advance technologies like television, computers. In contrast, nowadays, kids today have a world of technologies right at their fingertips. As a result, they can follow their favorite celebrity all the time and they have huge fan follower and their opinions matters to their fans. My own example demonstrates this concept, I follow a famous artist John Camry on social media and I am a huge fan of his arts. Two days back, I saw him on television volunteering with breast cancer awareness walk. I got so motivated that I followed his path and started community volunteer. My example is not an outlier, young generation like myself all over the world get inspired by the important figure whom they like.

In addition to it, young generations are open to ideas and suggestions whereas older people have spent their whole life following certain rules and regulations and they don't want to change. My grandfather is a convincing example what I am trying to say. My grandfather lived his life in a small town most of his life, but two years back we moved to an urban area, where we have all the available facilities and also modern technologies. Because of my busy schedule, I cook most of the food in a microwave and I don't see any harm in this. My grandfather is not happy the way food is cooked these days. He feels it has a deleterious effect on the health as he thinks it is generated by the electricity which is not good for human lives. Even though many times he had seen on the television microwaves and its advantages are endorsed by some famous celebrities. This example clearly shows older people are least affected by the opinions of the entertainers. In his view, it is a marketing strategy to sell the product rather than any beneficial effect.

All in all, I think modern generations are more affected by the views of the famous person. This is because older people had a very limited access to latest technologies so they are not open to the changes and adamant with their thoughts.