TPO-47 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Keeping yourself updated with current affairs should be the continuous goal of life. There is no doubt in my mind that many events that happen around the world have nothing to do with our day to day life. However, It is certainly important to keep ourselves abreast with current knowledge. Therefore, I strongly believe that it is definitely a good idea to have the understanding about the events happening around the globe. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

To begin with, keeping yourself updated helps to broaden our knowledge and increases our intellectual ability. In the modern era, where we have the advanced technology it is very easy to grasp the knowledge about the world around us. In addition to it, having a good understanding of a wide array of events provide us with the meaningful conversation with friends and family. For instance, me and my colleague go for a lunch date every Friday and we talk about various topics happening around the world, even though the topic we discuss has nothing to do with our work or with our personal life but such topics give us a meaningful conversation, which we enjoy and feels intellectual. Without the sound knowledge of events happening around the world, we would have spent our lunch date discussing banel office gossips.

Furthermore, knowing about the things happening around us helps us to be aware of the surroundings, about good and bad things taking place and how to keep us safe from the negative circumstances. Recently, I saw on the T.V that criminal gangs are coming up with innovative ideas to break into someone's houses. I felt such kind of information is very useful to protect ourselves from any ill-effects that might take place. My uncle's experience is a compelling example of what I mean. A few years back, my uncle was out of town for some important work and his family was alone in the town. A criminal gang, who was looking for such kind of opportunity entered into my uncle's house and took all his belongings when my aunt was fast asleep. Next morning, my aunt realized the loss, but it was too late. When I went to her place, I informed her that the information about the gang is telecasted daily on the news channel, but she said she did not pay attention as she felt it was not important. This example shows it is important to be aware of the things happening as it keeps us safe and alert.

All in all, I believe it is very important to have knowledge about everything. This is because it broadens our thought-process and also protect from evil things.