TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

Maintaining friendship is a very crucial part of human lives. There is no doubt in my mind that having a small group of friend for a long time is very significant to make our life easy: after all, few friends are easy to handle. However, The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is important for a happy life or ability to make many new friends? Some people believe that having few friends is an important factor for having a happy life. On the other hand, I think having an ability to make new friends makes a person really happy. I feel this way for following reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

To begin with, having the same set of friends for a long time makes our life boring and monotonous, by interacting with a same old friend it feels like you don't have anything new to talk and soon we get tired of from our friends. My own example demonstrates this concept. When I was in school 10 years back, I had only two friends, I spent the whole of my school time with just two friends, and as a result, I never get an opportunity to interact with any new people in school and make friends. I believe by making new friends you also learn new things and that broadens your horizon. As I said, I had only two friends in school, so I never got to learn about new people, their beliefs, and their culture. Therefore, my social circle never expanded much in the school. Whereas, when I joined the two years back university, I decided I will make new friends, and I did and then I realized I have better experiences and my knowledge diversified. This example clearly illustrates that making new friends provide you an opportunity to know about many people and that is very important part of human lives.

Furthermore, many experts argue that a person's ability to make new friends provides them with a successful life. For instance, when I was a University student, I made many friends and some of them really proved to be helpful when I entered the workforce. My friends who were already placed in a top firm recommended me for a job position, and I was able to be hired with a top IT company when I started looking for a job. In addition to it, my supervisor quickly noticed that I am a friendly person and he assigned me a marketing project which required people pleasing skills. I was lauded for my ability to make friends easily as this attribute helped me to get profitable businesses to the company. I was quickly advanced to my career. This example states how important it is to have many friends for your successful career. If I just had few friends I would not have gained the success so quickly.

All in all, quality to make new friends is a very significant attribute for a person. This is because it not only makes your life interesting but also you build networks which help you in your professional growth.